What does success look like in Physical Education?

Yes!

drowningintheshallow

Perhaps why there are misconceptions about Physical Education is because we can’t universally agree on what success looks like in our subject. It is an area of constant discussion within my department, and an area I still haven’t got clear in my mind.

Let me start by expressing what my personal view of success in PE looks like. A student achieving in PE leaves school with the competence, knowledge and understanding to stay healthy and fit. That they are also intrinsically motivated to find a way of being active that they can enjoy and maintain in their everyday life. If I can manage that then I think that is a job well done. However there are some major issues with what this view of success looks like. How can I be sure that a student, either during or after they have left school, is being active and is trying to lead a healthy lifestyle?…

View original post 1,119 more words

Leave a Reply

